A long-term, participatory and citizen-based approach

Each year, Lyrique-en-mer develops more cultural mediation actions that aim to connect audiences with the lyrical artistic offer. "Our mission!" according to Philip Walsh, Artistic Director and secondary resident in Belle-Ile since 2016.

At a time when an "All orchestra musicians" plan is being implemented and choral singing is being promoted in secondary schools, Lyrique-en-mer's historic partnership with the children of Belle-Ile's schools, enshrined in article 4 of the statutes, bears witness to the invaluable pedagogical experience that the opportunity to sing on stage in an opera with professionals represents for the island's children (following the example of Tosca in 2018).

Concert jeune public 2019

Concert Jeune Public 2019

Concert Jeune Public 2020

Towards the so-called "impeded" public, a social and solidarity involvement is more and more requested from the artists because music helps to live... A partnership is now contractualized between Lyrique-en-mer and the hospital of Belle-Ile and its associated living places.

Récital des jeunes artistes à l'EHPAD
Concert EHPAD 2020

Concert à l’hôpital de Belle-Ile 2019

Concert à l’hôpital de Belle-Ile 2020

Depending on the sanitary situation, "Come and sing" Haendel's Messiah could be the third participatory concert of Lyrique-en-mer. This fraternal and vibrant proximity of artistic, human and spiritual sharing values the contribution of each person to cultural life and constitutes a unique experience by making music a common heritage.

Since 2014, a preferential island rate facilitates access to concerts and concerns between 1/5 and 1/4 of the spectators. In 2020, Lyrique-en-mer initiated the deferred and very popular broadcast of the 2019-2020 season of the Metropolitan Opera (prices at 12€ and 15€) at the Rex cinema and relays, free of charge for the public, "Opera on Screen(s)", with La Chauve-Souris by Johann Strauss scheduled on June 11, 2021 live from the Angers Opera.

Lyrique-en-mer's membership of the Federation of Classical Music Festivals of Bretagne reinforces its regional affiliation and the opportunities for collaboration and sharing with other musical events in the area.

The stability of a controlled economic model (one opera and one church music work played each 4 or 5 times a year, plus an academy of 15 Young Artists) allows the development of complementary and qualitative "small forms": "Come and sing", various other concerts, recitals at the EHPAD and the FAM... It is a structuring and significant element with long-lasting public partnerships, and a constant and necessary search to enlarge the circle of individual donors, sponsors and patrons.

Une démarche participative et citoyenne qui s’inscrit dans la durée

Lyrique-en-mer développe chaque année plus d’actions de médiation culturelle qui visent à mettre en relation les publics avec l’offre artistique lyrique. « Notre mission ! » selon Philip Walsh, directeur artistique et résident secondaire à Belle-Ile depuis 2016.

À l’heure du plan « Tous musiciens d’orchestre » et de la promotion du chant choral dans les collèges, le partenariat historique de Lyrique-en-mer avec les enfants des établissements scolaires de Belle-Ile, acté à l’article 4 des statuts, témoigne de l’expérience pédagogique inestimable que représente pour des enfants bellilois l’opportunité de chanter sur scène dans un opéra avec des professionnels (à l’exemple de Tosca en 2018).

Concert jeune public 2019

Concert Jeune Public 2019

Concert Jeune Public 2020

Vers le public dit « empêché », une implication sociale et solidaire est de plus en plus demandée aux artistes car la musique aide à vivre… Un partenariat est désormais contractualisé entre Lyrique-en-mer et l’hôpital de Belle-Ile et ses lieux de vie associés.

Récital des jeunes artistes à l'EHPAD
Concert EHPAD 2020

Concert à l’hôpital de Belle-Ile 2019

Concert à l’hôpital de Belle-Ile 2020

Suivant les conditions sanitaires, « Venez Chanter » le Messie de Haendel pourrait être le troisième concert participatif de Lyrique-en-mer. Cette proximité fraternelle et vibrante de partage artistique, humain et spirituel valorise la contribution de chacun à la vie culturelle et constitue une expérience unique en faisant de la musique un patrimoine commun.

Depuis 2014, un tarif préférentiel insulaire facilite l’accès aux concerts et concerne entre 1/5 et 1/4 des spectateurs. En 2020, Lyrique-en-mer est à l’initiative de la diffusion en différé – très suivie – de la saison 2019-2020 du Metropolitan Opera (tarifs à 12€ et 15€) au cinéma Rex et relaie, gratuitement pour le public, « Opéra sur Écran(s) », avec La Chauve-Souris de Johann Strauss prévue le 11 juin 2021 en direct de l’Opéra d’Angers.

L’adhésion de Lyrique-en-mer à la Fédération des Festivals de Musique Classique de Bretagne renforce son appartenance régionale et les occasions de collaboration et de mutualisation du Festival avec d’autres événements musicaux de la région.

La stabilité d’un modèle économique maîtrisé (un opéra et une œuvre de musique sacrée joués chacun 4 ou 5 fois, une académie de 15 Jeunes Artistes) permet de développer des « petites formes » complémentaires qualitatives pour le territoire : Venez Chanter, divers autres concerts, récitals à l’EHPAD et au FAM… L’action culturelle de Lyrique-en-mer, offre structurante et significative pour le territoire, a la chance de s’appuyer sur des partenariats publics pérennes, mais se caractérise aussi par une recherche constante et nécessaire d’élargissement du cercle des donateurs individuels, des sponsors et des mécènes.